Update on Entrance Requirements to the United States

On December 4, 2017, the United States Supreme Court ruled that the Presidential Declaration issued on September 24, 2017 could be implemented in its entirety, effective immediately. The Declaration imposes restrictions on immigration to the United States by citizens of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Somalia and Yemen. The Declaration remains unchanged until decisions from respective appellate courts are reached in the original court challenges.

For more information on the decision, please see the US Supreme Court Orders 17A550 (PDF) and 17A560 (PDF).

If you have been invited to visit the United States during this time, and are concerned about entrance eligibility, please refer to the documents listed below, or contact the nearest U.S. Embassy.

For travel advisories, please refer to the Government of Canada website on active travel restrictions (SEE: ENTRY/EXIT REQUIREMENTS).

If you are travelling on university activity and have not registered with the Safety Abroad Office, please do so as soon as possible.

Learn how to register with the Safety Abroad Office and attend a US-specific pre-departure orientation.

We will be monitoring developments regarding this ruling to assess its impact on students. Please let us know if your travels were interrupted due to the Executive Order.

For more information, please contact Safety Abroad at 416-946-3929 or safety.abroad@utoronto.ca

Back to Home