Congratulations to our Award Winners!

2019 Governor General’s Gold Medal Winners:
Dr. Phil De Luna (L) and Dr. Alexandre Pelletier (centre) with Professor Peter Martin, who accepted the medal on behalf of Dr. Jeilai Zhang

On May 22, SGS celebrated the achievements of students and faculty at the annual Awards Reception at the Faculty Club.

Dean Joshua Barker congratulated students and faculty for their impressive achievements this year. In addition to presenting Governor General’s Gold Medals to Dr. Phil De Luna, Dr. Alexandre Pelletier, and Dr. Jielai Zhang, and certificates to JJ Berry Smith Supervision Awardees Dr. Arthur Ripstein and Dr. Tania Watts, Professor Barker recognized:

  • the nearly 600 graduate students who were offered Tri-agency Federal Awards;
  • recipient of the Schmidt Science Fellowship, Ina Anreiter;
  • recipient of the John Leyerle-CIFAR Prize for Interdisciplinary Research, Alborz Rezazadeh Sereshkeh; and
  • the U of T 3MT winner, Shane Saunderson.

Back to Home