Congratulations to our Award and Scholarship Winners

Judith Wiener and JJ Berry Smith; Johanna Thoma and Dean Locke Rowe

L to R: Judith Wiener and JJ Berry Smith; Johanna Thoma and Dean Locke Rowe

On May 25, Dean Locke Rowe celebrated the outstanding achievements of U of T graduate students and faculty. Gradschool e-news extends a hearty congratulations to:

  • this year’s recipients of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Scholarship (NSERC; 185 scholars);  the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Scholarship (SSHRC; 249 scholars); the Canadian Institute of Health Research Scholarship (CIHR; 99 scholars); and the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (22 scholars).
  • three recipients of the Governor General’s Gold Medal, which recognizes the highest academic standing at the graduate level: Kathleen Fraser from the Department of Computer Science, Brandon R. Sutherland from the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Johanna Thoma from the Department of Philosophy. Read more.
  • two recipients of the JJ Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award: Dr. Judith Wiener, Department of Applied Psychology & Human Development and Dr. Mark Lautens, Department of Chemistry. The award recognizes active graduate faculty members at U of T who, for more than 15 years, have established an outstanding reputation for encouraging academic excellence, providing a supportive and stimulating environment, and positioning students for future careers. Read more.
  • Richard Kil of the Department of Chemistry, who captured the title at both the U of T and Provincial finals of the Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition. Read more.





Back to Home