Celebrating Excellence in Doctoral Supervision

Each year, the School of Graduate Studies recognizes through the JJ Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award two active graduate faculty members who demonstrate excellence in doctoral (PhD, EdD, DMA, SJD) supervision over 15+ years.

Gradschool e-news connected with this year’s winners, Dr. Arthur Ripstein, Department of Philosophy and Dr. Tania Watts, Department of Immunology to ask about their definitions of good doctoral supervision, and what advice they may have for graduate students and faculty.

Back to Home